ACO Collective

Australian Chamber Orchestra presents

The Lark Ascending

Thursday 22 March 7.30pm

The Australian Chamber Orchestra’s acclaimed string ensemble, ACO Collective, return to Margaret River in 2018 for their concert The Lark Ascending.

Fresh from the success of an exceptional 10th-anniversary season in 2017, with the brilliant violinist Pekka Kuusisto as its Artistic Director for a third year, ACO Collective combines musicians of the ACO with young professional musicians at the outset of their careers.

For their first tour of 2018, the Orchestra will be led by Kuusisto through one of the most popular, poignantly brilliant classical works ever written, The Lark Ascending.

Joining this program are two other English works separated by some 265 years: Henry Purcell’s Fantasia upon One Note contains a middle voice that plays literally one note throughout, and Benjamin’ Britten’s Second String Quartet, which was written to commemorate 250 years since Purcell’s death, providing a link between the two works.

A world premiere by Cyrus Meurant opens the concert, an Australian composer with a rapidly growing reputation who has written a new work especially for these remarkable musicians.


World Premiere*

VAUGHAN WILLIAMS (arr. Adam Johnson)
The Lark Ascending

PURCELL Fantasia upon One Note

BRITTEN (arr. David Matthews)
String Quartet No. 2

*Commissioned by the Australian Chamber Orchestra

Tickets: $50 Adult, $45 Concession (Pension/Health Care Card), $42 Arts Hub Member, $25 Youth