Loading Events

« All Events

In Conversation with Craig Silvey

December 1 @ 6:00 PM 7:00 PM

Craig silvey runt

Arts Margaret River and The Margaret River Bookshop present…

Australia’s most beloved author is back with the feel-good story we all need.

Join Craig for this very special intimate event to celebrate the release of his new book, Runt, a heart- warming, funny, beautifully told story in the tradition of Babe, Matilda and The Castle.

Following on from his bestselling and critically acclaimed books, Honeybee and Jasper Jones, Runt, is a beautiful, life-affirming and optimistic story about the importance of understanding, support and love and is destined to become an immediate classic.

Meet Annie Shearer and her best friend, an adopted stray dog called Runt.

Annie Shearer is a solitary girl with a compulsion for fixing things. Runt, on account of his years eluding capture on the streets, is capable of remarkable speed and acrobatics. When Annie overhears an anxious conversation between her parents about the loan on their farm, she decides to enter Runt in the Agility Course Competition at the local fair, which boasts a winner’s purse of $500. It’s here that she learns of a much, much bigger prize on offer at the prestigious Krumpets Dog Show in London.

After two difficult years, Runt is the heart-warming story of triumph and resilience we all need. It’s a story about persevering despite the odds. A story for the underdogs and outsiders. In the great Silvey tradition, Runt is also a high jinks, rollicking adventure the whole family will enjoy.

Craig will be joined in conversation by local journalist Nicky Lefebvre.

This is a FREE event – register for tickets (limited capacity).
Children 12 plus are very welcome to register for tickets (must be accompanied by a parent or adult)

Please kindly donate and help us keep the arts accessible for all in the South West.

Proudly presented by Arts Margaret River, The Margaret River Bookshop and The River Hotel.

Doors: 5.30pm. Talk: From 6pm followed by books sales and signings

40 Wallcliffe Road
Margaret River, WA 6285 Australia
+ Google Map
(08) 9757 0000
View Venue Website